~okeanos-knossos is GRNET's cloud service for the Greek Research and Academic Community. To register with the service, an Academic account from your Institution is needed. During the signup process, you need to choose the Academic Login method, provide your academic credentials and some personal information. You will then receive a confirmation e-mail in order to verify your e-mail address and activate your account.


In order to prove your eligibility to use the service, make sure you log into your account using your academic login frequently. If you don't login at least once in 60 days, a notification will be automatically sent to you.
Verifying your Academic Login is simple enough:

  1. Visit ~okeanos-knossos web site: https://okeanos-knossos.grnet.gr/
  2. Click on "Sign in" at the top right corner (if you are already signed in, sign out to ensure that you are not using a classic login method)
  3. Ignore the classic login fields and "submit" button; click on the "Academic Login" instead.
  4. If prompted, choose your institution; use your academic credentials (provided by your institution) to log in.

You will have 15 days in order to do that, so stay alert and sign in.
Otherwise, your projects will be suspended, your quota zeroed, your API key revoked, and your Classic Login blocked in case it was enabled.

If you are no longer eligible to use ~okeanos-knossos and you need temporary access to the VMs, you should contact ~okeanos-knossos support.

All resources (VMs, disks, IPs and files) will be deleted 45 days after the first notification.
Afterwards, there is no turning back. You will not be able to access your VMs or retrieve your files and personal data.

Resources & Quotas

The "Usage" tab allows you to check out the state of all your resources on ~okeanos-knossos. Resources are granted through Projects and have a limited duration. The default Project for your account is named "System project".

If you are a new user, you won't be able to create a VM, because the quotas of your System project are set to 0. You should gain resources though by joining an existing project or creating a new one.

From the "Projects" tab of your Dashboard, you may request to participate in an existing project. Depending on the membership policy of the project, you may instantly gain access to its resources or you may have to get accepted by the project administrator.

Alternatively, you can request a specific amount of resources to run your own project and invite others. After submitting a project application, it gets reviewed by the ~okeanos-knossos team. The review criteria include the needs of each user, the reasons for requesting the additional resources and the availability of resources at that time. So, your application must be well-written and clearly state the reason this project is needed.

Keep in mind that projects have a limited duration and they don't get renewed automatically. You need to be proactive and submit a project modification early enough to extend its duration. Otherwise your account will be in an overquota state and your project resources will be reclaimed after some time.

However, you should be aware that the project modifications you submit will get reviewed as well, so you shouldn't take their approval for granted.

Overquota Users

Whether you are not eligible to use the service anymore, your project has been terminated or you are removed from it, you may find your account in an overquota state.

You will be asked to release the resources you are currently using or reassign them to another project with available quotas. You will be given a reasonable time (15 days) to do so, otherwise your VMs will get shut down and your IPs will get detached.
If you cannot reassign these resources to another project and your VMs have already been shut down, you may contact ~okeanos-knossos support in order to gain temporary access to your VMs, retrieve your data and destroy them. All resources (VMs, disks, IPs and files) will be deleted 30 days after the first notification.

Afterwards, there is no turning back. You will not be able to access your VMs or retrieve your files and personal data.